The TRANSROMANICA was created within the context of an application submitted to the INTERREG IIIB, co-financed by the European Union, and developed between 2003 and 2006.

Five European regions (Upper Saxony and Germany's Thuringia, Italy's Modena, Austria's Carinthia and Slovenia) teamed up to build a network of Romanesque spots and itineraries in Europe.

After the end of this project, the TRANSROMANICA was recognised as a "Great Cultural Route of the Council of Europe", in August 2007. This important recognition was on the basis of the decision to extend the project, while maintaining the already forged partnerships.

The international association "TRANSROMANICA - The Romanesque Routes of European Heritage e.V." was created on November 2007, and it is based in Magdeburg, Germany. This is a non-profit organisation, with its own budget, dedicated to the promotion of the European heritage associated with Romanesque art and architecture, thus developing tourism, in order to support a sustainable regional development.

The Route of the Romanesque formally joined the TRANSROMANICA on December 11th, 2009, at a ceremony held in Modena, Italy. The director of the Route of the Romanesque, Rosário Correia Machado, is a member of the Executive Board of the TRANSROMANICA, since October 2013.

The TRANSROMANICA currently combines eight European countries, located between the Baltic and the Mediterranean Sea: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Spain.

More information on TRANSROMANICA are available on its website.

  • TRANSROMANICA_brochure

     (pdf, )

  • TRANSROMANICA_travel programme

     (pdf, 1 Mb)